The new volume in the series of Sibelius’s Complete Works includes critical editions of Finlandia and Valse triste

A newly published volume in the series of Jean Sibelius’s complete works (JSW) contains critical editions of Finlandia (Op. 26), Valse triste (Op. 44 No. 1), and five other orchestral works, namely, Scen med tranorna (“The Scene with the Cranes”, Op. 44 No. 2), Canzonetta (Op. 62a), Valse romantique (Op. 62b), Valse lyrique (Op. 96a), and Valse chevaleresque (Op. 96c). The volume is the 32nd volume in the complete works series, and it is edited by Timo Virtanen.

Five of the works were originally composed as music for theatre. Scen med tranorna originates from Sibelius’s music for Arvid Järnefelt’s play Kuolema (“The Death”), and it has now been printed for the first time as an edition based on Sibelius’s original manuscript. The story of the sources for Finlandia, which was also composed for theatre, is especially intriguing. Its original manuscript disappeared in the fall of 1900, when Sibelius was travelling in Germany. In order to publish the work, a new score was copied from orchestral parts. Due to a complicated series of incidents, various mistakes and inaccuracies appeared in the printed editions of Finlandia.

In addition to the revised scores and commentaries, the volume includes a great deal of new information about the genesis, early performances, and reception of the works. The editorial work of the volume has utilised archive materials from the National Library and the National Archives of Finland, the Helsinki City Archive, the Sibelius Museum (Turku), the publisher Breitkopf & Härtel, the British Library, and the National Library of Norway. The publishers of Sibelius’s complete works are the National Library, the Finnish Sibelius Society, and the publisher Breitkopf & Härtel (Wiesbaden).

Further information:

Timo Virtanen
Editor-in-chief, professor
Puh. +358 40 5094 773

JSW – Jean Sibelius Works