Skip to main content

Sibelius’s first orchestral works as critical edition

Date published
The complete critical edition Jean Sibelius Works has published its 27th volume including Sibelius’s first compositions for orchestra: Overture in E major and Balettscen. The volume was edited by Tuija Wicklund.

Sibelius composed for the orchestra for the first time in the spring of 1891 in Vienna, where he was furthering his studies. Of his planned symphony, Sibelius finished two movements, which he sent to Helsinki to be performed. These works, entitled Overture and Balettscen, were the very works in the program when Sibelius premiered as conductor in Helsinki in the fall of 1891. 

The works fell into oblivion soon thereafter and remained unpublished during Sibelius’s lifetime. The new critical edition publishes both works as well as Sibelius’s revision of the ending of Balettscen. 

JSW is published by the National Library of Finland, the Sibelius Society of Finland and the publishing house Breitkopf & Härtel (Wiesbaden).   



Further information:

Editor Tuija Wicklund, National Library of Finland / Jean Sibelius Works

tuija.wicklund (at)

Tel. +358 2 941 24091