A critical edition of Sibelius’s works for violin and piano

Date published
The complete critical edition of Jean Sibelius Works has published its 30th volume, including Sibelius’s opus-numbered works for violin or cello and piano. The volume was edited by Anna Pulkkis.

The manuscript of the violin part of the popular Romance in F major (Op. 78 No. 2), preserved in the National Library of Finland. This earlier violin part differs from the published version.

Sibelius wrote many of these compositions between 1914 and 1918, during World War I. They were not published until the 1920s, and in the printed editions there remained errors that irritated the composer. In the critical edition, the errors have been corrected on the basis of Sibelius’s autograph manuscripts.

The earliest work in the volume is Romans (1890), a piece which the young violinist-composer once played for writer Zacharias Topelius, whom he admired. The volume also includes Sibelius’s last opus-numbered works, opuses 115 and 116 from the year 1929.

At the beginning of the 1910s, Sibelius revised many of his early works. Among them was the big Fantasia (1900) for cello and piano, published in 1911 with the title Malinconia.

Malinconia is Sibelius’s only opus-numbered work exclusively for cello and piano. The volume also includes the pieces in opuses 77 and 78 as versions for cello and piano.

Jean Sibelius Works is published by the National Library of Finland, the Sibelius Society of Finland, and the publishing house Breitkopf & Härtel (Wiesbaden).

Further information:

Anna Pulkkis
Jean Sibelius Works

The National Library of Finland
P.O. Box 15
00014 University of Helsinki, Finland

+358 50 448 7480

Jean Sibelius Works