Concert: Works by Jean Sibelius and Edvard Grieg

Event date
Fri 6.9.2019
19:00 to 21:00
The National Library of Finland
The Cupola Hall
Unioninkatu 36
Target audience
Open to all.
Accessibility information
Unfortunately, the main entrance of our library at Unioninkatu 36 is not suited for wheelchair access or for people with reduced mobility; we kindly ask customers to use the entrance in the inner courtyard at Yliopistokatu 1. The inner courtyard also has disabled parking.

Works by Jean Sibelius and Edvard Grieg the Cupola Hall.

Sung-Ju Lee, violin
Folke Gräsbeck, piano


JEAN SIBELIUS (1865–1957):
Sonatina in E major, Op. 80 (1915)
I Lento – Allegro
II Andantino
III Lento – Allegretto

Everyman – Jokamies, incidental music to the play by
Hugo von Hoffmannsthal (Finnish by Huugo Jalkanen), Op. 83, 
(1916), Three pieces arranged for piano (1925):

From Six Pieces for violin and piano, Op. 79:
1. Souvenir (1915)
6. Berceuse (1917)
5. Tanz-Idylle (1917)

*    *    *    Intermission    *    *    *

Kuolema – Death, incidental music to the play by Arvid Järnefelt,
p. 44 (1903, rev. 1904):
1. Valse triste (arr. for violin and piano by Friedrich Herrmann)

EDVARD GRIEG (1843–1907):
Sonata for violin and piano No. 3 in C minor, Op. 45 (1887)
I Allegro molto ed appassionato
II Allegretto espressivo alla romanza
III Allegro animato

In cooperation with The Sibelius Society and
The Critical Edition: Jean Sibelius works.

Free entry.